A little bit of NYC: The Oculus

Sometimes it is hard to really appreciate the city I live in.

After weeks of being on a medical school rotation, you begin to forget that you live in NYC. In between studying and assignments and living a little thing called life, it is becoming easier for me to forget that I live here. I guess that must mean that the past few weeks have been a bit hectic, but alas one more rotation is done!

So, when a rotation is done, I pinch myself and remind myself that I live in one of the greatest cities in the world and that I should be enjoying it.

I wasn’t sure where to go this time around, mostly because I was exhausted and didn’t feel like thinking. BUT I somehow ended at the Oculus nearby the World trade center. I had never been to either the Oculus or the WTC area, which I guess makes me a bad New Yorker, but it was calling me, so I ended up there.

For those of you who don’t know what I am talking about, the Oculus is a transportation hub in the WTC area. It is architecturally stunning and when I got there, I was amazed. I think there are a few places in NYC where you feel so alone and at peace when there are probably hundreds of people there with you, and the Oculus is one of those places for me.

IMG_8070IMG_8058IMG_8055IMG_8054IMG_8052IMG_8048IMG_8047

My thoughts have been all over the place in the past few weeks, not only because of the transitions I’ve been making but also because doing this and growing up at the same time, can be really challenging. I’ve written about this before, but these past few weeks were particularly thought provoking for me.

Anyway, at the Oculus I sensed peace for the first in a week or so. This was so nice and it may have just been because the Oculus is beautiful and you can’t help but really be in awe of the architecture.

I walked around the Oculus for some time and then, I got hungry. To my surprise, right across from the Oculus, Brookfield place is located. I went to their food court called, Hudson Eats, which was an above average food court and satisfied my need for food at that point. Brookfield Place itself is a shopping mall and it is also very beautiful. They had a Snoopy exhibition on which was really cute. Additionally, it is right by the port, so getting to see the Hudson River was nice. I even got a glimpse of home from here :).

IMG_8065IMG_8062IMG_8061IMG_8060IMG_8063IMG_8064IMG_8066IMG_8068

I had such a nice relaxing time and these moments always remind me how much I love living here. This is more than at this point and getting to places where I feel so in touch with this city always makes me feel excited. It is like falling in love all over again.

How are you all doing? I will posting something about my OB/GYN rotation in a few weeks, so stayed tuned for that πŸ™‚ .

xoxo,

M

 

One thought on “A little bit of NYC: The Oculus

Leave a Reply

