A little bit about finally having a PhD!

Hi friends!

I’m writing remotely as I am leaving Cancun to return to NYC. I wanted to give you an update as to what’s been up. I know I’ve been missing for a few weeks and all I can say is that I overestimated my ability to do everything at once; including keeping the blog updated.

So, what has been going on? A lot!

First, I successfully defended my thesis last week. That means that I have a PhD! So you can technically call me a doctor. 😉 . It still hasn’t sunk in yet. In fact, it seems surreal.  I will write more about my preparation leading up to my defense and my defense itself in a future post.

Second, I am exhausted. During the few weeks leading up to my defense, I was fighting a huge load of exhaustion. I’m sure it had to do with the emotional and physical toll graduate school has taken on me. One of my upcoming posts will deal with this because I think it is a topic that is talked about between graduate students but no one really addresses it otherwise.

Third, I am taking some time for myself. Although, I will be updating this post from wherever I am in the world (WiFi permitting), I am taking some time to realign my priorities and take a mental break. I’ve been meaning to actually just take a breather for the past few years and I figured actually going away from the city would be the best way to do this. So, I am taking this break feeling a little guilty because I am a workaholic, but also knowing that I need this, especially since I’ll start medical school in the upcoming months.

Finally, as I transition out of graduate school and into medical school, I will probably have less time to keep you updated. I also think that the blog may take a different turn. I still want to write about this city and all the unique things that happen here, however, I may begin writing more about my experiences in medical school and how they have been changed, both positively and negatively, by my graduate school experience. We will see how it goes. Other suggestions are also welcomed!

Hope all of you are doing amazing!

Xoxo,
M

Leave a Reply

