A little bit about wandering around “A Pen of All Work” at the New Museum

Hello friends!

A few weeks ago, in an attempt to celebrate my birthday, I ended up at the New Museum. Weeks of non-stop work had left me without much energy and I decided to take the weekend off. Well, I have no idea how or why, but I ended up downtown. I was wandering for some time loving the lower east side (so much is happening down there), and I stumbled upon the New Museum. I was pleasantly surprised 🙂

The New Museum is one of my favorite places in the city. I have written about it before, so I won’t go into my love for this museum. However, I will remind you that if you are ever there you have to go all the way up to the top floor to soak up the view of the city. It is definitely nicer on warmer days, but it was still worth it going up there in the cold. In fact, it was a reminder that I am actually excited about this new decade and everything that is about to happen 🙂

Anyway, currently Raymond Pettibon is on view. He is an American artist who has chronicled a lot of American political and cultural events through his drawings and art. I really did not know much about this artist prior to visiting the museum, but I was pleasantly surprised. Given the political climate currently in the US and what brought us to what has defined what is happening worldwide in terms of terrorism etc., this exhibition pleasantly made me think about all of this. Although, I do not plan on writing politics on this blog, it is nice to have artists who remind you of past history and also allow you to think about current events. This artist did this for me and really made me question my own assumptions about the way that I view the political climate right now, the people involved in politics, and also the disparity in beliefs that can exist when not inside a “liberal” bubble.

IMG_7328IMG_7317IMG_7315IMG_7318

Apart from this, there were also drawings that commented on culture during different time periods and other random drawings depicting a dog or feelings. I really enjoyed seeing culture through his eyes and smiling a bit from the time to time about the commentary that came with those drawings both implied and literal.

IMG_7320IMG_7329IMG_7330IMG_7327IMG_7322IMG_7325IMG_7321IMG_7319

IMG_7326
One of my favorite 🙂

Perhaps the most astonishing, and one of the larger parts of his exhibit, are the drawings of waves. The drawings are beautiful. They required a lot of talent and some commentary is also written on them. When I entered this part of the exhibition, I felt as though I was swimming in blue. I am assuming this is the idea that they were trying to convey :).

IMG_7323IMG_7324

So, if you are around, make a pit stop at the New museum. This was the cherry on top of the cake for my weekend birthday celebration and it really got me in the mood to do other things. I love art and it was nice to go to see an exhibit that was provocative without really offending you, but rather making you think.

On a side note, it has been beautiful in NYC. I think spring has finally hit the city and it is nice to feel the rays of sun on your face and see the trees blooming.

Hope all of you are having a lovely weekend!

xxxx,

M

One thought on “A little bit about wandering around “A Pen of All Work” at the New Museum

  1. We found the exhibit interesting, but with a darker tone. It’s definitely one that had the wheels churning in our brains long after we left. But like you, we love the New Museum and always credit it with promoting thought-provoking work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

