A little bit about loving this city

Hi friends,

This week has been a bit dreadful…in terms of the weather.

It has been quite snowy and rainy. Don’t get me wrong, I love the snow and Central Park when it snows. What I don’t like is the slush and the puddles that come afterward. Thankfully though, the city is pretty good about clearing most of the snow in an efficient way…for the most part.

img_7191
It was so lovely to see so much snow!

img_7190img_7189

img_7188
Central Park after the snow!
img_7153
No blog post would be complete without a photo of my feet 🙂

Anyway, in between this cold and dreary weather, I decided to venture out and visit the Second Avenue subway. I know I am late to this party since everyone else seems to have visited, and I do live pretty close to one of the new stations, BUT I am patting myself on the back for finally leaving the library and going to check out the new murals at the stations.

The Second Avenue subway has always been dear and near to my heart. Why you must be asking yourself? Well, when I first moved to this city to start this program, my classmates and I used to joke that we might never see this subway station. In fact, we always thought that it would open in 2018 and, by that time, most of us would have graduated. So, the running joke was always, who will finish first? Apparently, the NYC transit authority has it more together than all of us, and they finally opened new stations at 72nd, 86th and 96th street.

When I visited, I was actually in awe. Mostly because everything is new and, given that I’ve been to some pretty old stations, I just liked how new everything looked. Then as I ventured into each station, I also realized that there was art everywhere. Even though I don’t take this line as much as I should, I would love to see these murals everyday. They are so detailed and they really do express what New York City is about- inclusion, love, fun, acceptance, and excitement. I think that in terms of the art, NYC did an amazing job and I am glad that I got to see it before starting the next training phase of my life.

img_7175img_7176img_7178img_7181img_7183img_7177img_7173img_7172img_7171img_7168img_7164img_7163

img_7192
I love this one- it reminds me to dream even bigger 🙂

Leaving the Second Avenue subway, I was proud to live in this city. With everything that is going on in this country, politically and socially, I think it was good to see such diversity exemplified in the murals– ethnic, cultural, sexual etc etc. Irrespective of anyone’s feelings, views, I think this is what the city does really well.

Yes, this city is crazy and hectic and moves extremely fast, but it also has character and it allows people from all over the place to express and uniquely be themselves. The subway station made me feel welcome. It made me feel included. It made me feel protected. These are things which seemed tenuous in the past few weeks. So leaving it, I was thankful.

To me, this is the power of this city. Importantly, this is the power of art.

How are all of you doing?

xoxo,

M

Leave a Reply

