One step forward, two steps back…and it’s Fall!

Hi friends,

I hope all of you are doing well.

Lately it seems that all I have been doing is working in lab or trying to get my hips back to being completely functional.

My last committee meeting is coming up- the one where they will decide whether I will graduate in the upcoming months- so I have been ramping up the amount of work that I have been doing in lab. I am tying loose ends mostly and waiting for things to pan out. I cannot overstate that this has been a most stressful and trying moment for me because I am extremely critical of my own work and performance, so I have been pushing myself more than I usually would. So, I am sorry if I have not been posting here. Grad school is happening at full speed now and I hope that my next committee meeting is successful. Fingers crossed.

On other fronts, I have also been dealing with hip pain again. For those of you who don’t know, I had two hip surgeries last year and have been getting consistently better. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I started having pain again and I have been working through it. Having always been someone who is active and actually likes to work out, this has taken a toll on my body and mind. It is tough to be limited by pain that is out of my control, but I am working on feeling better. For me, yoga has helped a lot. I started a yoga practice and this has helped me to keep muscle strength while nurturing my psyche. A lot of what getting and staying better means to me relates to just having a positive outlook and yoga helps me to do that.

While all of this is happening, it has turned into Fall in NYC! I am reminded of how beautiful this city is now that the leaves are changing color and the weather is getting cooler. It is nice that I can wear comfy clothes out now. I think today is one of the first days where it has been really chilly, which is a welcome change given that the weather this summer was weird.

Anyway, I thought I should share some photos of random NYC places that I have visited in the past few weeks. I haven’t had much time to be out and about, but I figured I should share what I can.

My most favorite is this Public Art installation close by. It just reminds me that even the most mundane things can get a laugh out of you and remind you that in the midst of everything we are all human 🙂

img_6336

 

In walking around this area, I figured I should document Fall in the city…so here are more photos.

 

xoxox,

M

Leave a Reply

