Mending broken hearts: Shelter Island and Fireworks

Hi friends,

It has been a busy past few weeks. In between pipetting my way to a PhD, I have been getting out there, meeting new people, and getting my heart broken.

By getting my heart broken, I mean I just broke up with someone whom I had been seeing for a few months. I am no sure if it is a “break-up” as the rules of dating are still a little obscure to me, but it hurt nonetheless, so I guess it is one ;).

In order to mend broken hearts, a friend and I decided to visit Shelter Island last weekend. We took the Long Island Railroad to Greenpoint and then took the ferry to the island. Suffice it to say that it was totally worth it! The island itself is beautiful and the architecture is fantastic. One can only dream of owning property here. In fact, my friend and I started dreaming about where we would want our house and what we would want in it. Some of the houses reminded me of Italian villas, outfitted with pools and all.

We ended up laying on the beach, having drinks, eating chips, and recounting what led to this broken heart. I am extremely grateful to my friend for putting up with me because I am not sure I could have done the same ;).

After laying on the beach for a few hours, we decided to take the ferry back to Greenpoint and grabbing a few bites to eat. This led us to Lucharitos where I had one the best mojitos ever and some pretty awesome tacos. The prices were just right as well.

So, if you want to get away from the city, to relax or mend a broken heart, you should definitely get out to Shelter Island and explore.

Since it was a long weekend for us, July 4th weekend, I also ended up going out to see the NYC fireworks. Seeing from the East River is awesome as these are the highlight of my summer and they never fail to disappoint.

I hope all of you are doing awesome! If you have any questions, comments, suggestions of future posts, let me know.

xoxo,

M

Leave a Reply

