Random weekend strolls in NYC: SoHo, the Village, and the Meatpacking district

Hi friends,

I’ve been busy and stressed out lately, so I decided to go on a random self-made walking tour yesterday.

I started off in SoHo in the West Broadway area where an Alex and Ani shop is. Alex and Ani is a jewelry company that started off selling charm bracelets and has since expanded into making other types of jewelry. I really like their positive messages and their jewelry is high quality and trustworthy. Their shop in SoHo is small, but homey, and the staff is really nice.

image

Stopping by SoHo, which I don’t do often, was nice. There are so many shops in this area. Most of the shops are designer shops, but there are also other shops which are worth discovering. If you walk away from the shops, the architecture is also pretty astounding. I was not aware that there are many brownstones in this area. I love brownstones and it was nice to find quiet places here especially since it is always packed with people. I also liked how their streets were not completely paved and there were a lot of bricks that you could walk over which gave the whole area an old but modern feeling.

I should have taken more photos yesterday, but I didn’t. Taking photos of everything is something I am still getting used to. If you’d like to see more photos of SoHo or just find out what you can do here, TimeOut has a guide. The photo above is from their page.

I decided to leave the SoHo area and walked into the Village. I don’t know how I got here, but I did. I’ve been to the village multiple times during my six years living here. It is definitely full of small affordable restaurants that often offer good food. There are also some eccentric shops around here which are worth walking into. At night, there is a vibrant bar scene around here. At one point in my life, I was dating a musician and we would often go to this are because he was playing shows here. I thought the nightlife was quite nice here actually. You can find multiple bars but it is not too loud or rowdy. NYCgo has a good guide on what to do here and some of my favorites (the jazz bar, Washington square park, the IFC theater, the basketball courts at W4th are listed).

After walking through the village, I ended up in the West 4th Street area. I like this are because it has a different, more relaxed vibe than the rest of noisy NY has. I also like this area because one of my favorite ice cream shops From Gelato is here. As I walking towards this area, I stumbled upon this possible shop called Popbar. Although, it was a pretty cute small place and I liked the ambiance, the possible I got didn’t really hit the spot. It has gotten great reviews though and I wouldn’t mind trying it again. If you need a snack, either one of these or any of the ice cream shops in this area will do 🙂 .

IMG_5630

I continued to walk aimlessly through these neighborhoods until I found the meatpacking district. This is home to even more upscale shops, some really nice restaurants, and one of my favorite places in the city, The Whitney Museum. I resisted the urge to go into the Whitney because I wanted to actually check out the Highline. The Highline is this reconstructed railroad track that was made into a park. It is very green and stunning at times. Having the view of the Hudson River on once side as you walk along it, is definitely a plus. Even though there were lots of people, it was worth it. I walked from the beginning on West 12th street to the end on West 34th street. It didn’t feel like a long walk because there was just so much greenery to take in and art around. If you get hungry, there are also stands selling food at different points. The architecture around the highline is a plus. The building around here kept on reminding me of Europe. If you can walk the entire length of the Highline, I highly recommend it.

After this, I was beat, but I decided to walk back home. Walking back to the east side was nice. I wanted to try out a new vegan restaurant that opened up around where I live, but instead I settled for a nice scone from Alice’s Teacup. If you are up for tea and good food (especially the scones), you should stop by and have a break.

If anything, this walk helped to destress me and also reminded me of all of the different lives I have lived while in this city. I have been to so many random spots which I had forgotten. The most important thing is that I’ve always been to these spots with people whom I love and who have added positive things to my life. What more can a girl ask for?

Hope you are all having a lovely weekend!

xoxo,

M

2 thoughts on “Random weekend strolls in NYC: SoHo, the Village, and the Meatpacking district

Leave a Reply

