Hidden NYC treasures: Upper East Side

Hi everyone,

I hope all of you are having a lovely weekend!

It has been quite nice here. I noticed today that the trees in front of my apartment building are growing leaves! You cannot imagine how excited this made me. I think I have been waiting for some greenery and nice weather for such a long time that now that it is here, I am in disbelief :).

With the nicer weather, I have been exploring the city a little bit more. I notice that having lived here for such a long time and being a full time graduate student has left me little time to actually explore. I honestly need to remedy this situation and part of the reason why I started this blog was to actually get out there and chronicle my adventures in this city ;). So I will try my best to get my head out of the books and explore this lovely city.

As such, I have discovered some great little nooks in the UES. I live in this area and I thought it would be a great idea to write about it.

The UES is located between 59th and 96th street on the East side. It is very homey and quiet. There are a lot of families and older people living in this area, which makes it really safe and a little bit more affordable than other parts of the city. I personally love the UES because it has a very homey feel for me and it is quiet during the weekends, which helps because I would not like to be in a busy neighborhood while I am trying to relax.

There are a lot of places to eat and shop here. In fact, the Fifth Avenue boutiques are really close by and you can find any designer that you’d like here. There are also tons of restaurants ranging from the high end ones to the cheaper ones. The food is usually great, it just depends where you eat.

Perhaps what is most amazing about this part of town for me is the number museums that are located nearby and Central Park. I live really close by the park and it is my favorite place to go to especially when I need to destress.

Two of my favorite new places which I just discovered recently are the MET Breuer and the Plaza Food Hall.

The MET Breuer is the newly opened modern art section of the MET. It is located where the MoMA used to be before they moved downtown. I visited a few weekends ago and really liked the oldness of the building. I like that the MET has decided to open up its own “modern-art” building. The exhibition by Naseem Mohamedi, an indian artist, who loved abstract art and photography, and who accomplished all of this work in three decades, was amazing. I was astounded and moved by her work. If you are in the city, you should definitely check this out.

The other place which I discovered in my search for crepes is the food hall at the Plaza Hotel. First, you should visit the Plaza hotel just because it is an iconic part of NYC. I always just viewed it as the hotel, until I discovered that there is a food hall in the basement and that the food that is offered these is actually pretty good. There are food from all over the world ranging from crepes and pastries to ramen. It is also very beautiful down there and worth a visit if only to walk around and get a whiff of all the tasty food. I went for the crepes and was not disappointed and will be returning whenever I get another craving.

I hope all of you are having a lovely weekend and let me know if you’d like me to feature more parts of the city!

xoxox,

M

PS: All photos on this blog are usually mine, but this time around the featured image here is from the MET museum.

 

5 thoughts on “Hidden NYC treasures: Upper East Side

  1. Hi there! Happy to meet another NYC blogger! We blog about things to do and eat in NYC and Met Breuer has been on our list for a while. We’re finally planning to get out there next weekend and we’re pretty excited about it. You have a ton of interesting observations about the city, and we agree with a lot of them. It’s not an easy city to survive in, but the payoffs are pretty great! Look forward to seeing what else you cover! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey there! I am also glad to see another NYC blogger here :). You should definitely go to the MET Breuer, I really enjoyed it. Since the ticket will also get you into the MET, the modern art section there is worth visiting. I think they also have the fashion exhibit right now. I’ve been meaning to go see it, but haven’t gotten the time to do so. If you are in the area, I can also offer some recommendations for eating, but given your blog, it seems like you will find a place :). Really like what you are doing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, you’re too kind! Yup, that’s the plan! We’ve been waiting to hit up the Costume Institute’s latest exhibit so we figured we’d do them together. And yes, we somehow always manage to find something to eat :), but we always welcome suggestions from someone more familiar with the ‘hood!

        Like

      2. If you come to the UES, you should definitely walk along 2nd Av. That is where most of the restaurants are. I particularly like this ramen place on 81st and second-Mei Jin Ramen. It may be a little too warm for ramen but there are other things on the menu which are just as good. There is a great sushi place on 80th- Yuka. They serve pretty decent sushi. If you are in the mood for chinese, I recommend going to Xi’an Famous Foods on 77th between 1st and 2nd. It is a super casual spot with great food. Finally, if you want tacos, Cascabel taqueria is good for tacos and drinks. In terms of dessert, there is an Insomnia Cookies, a crepe place (Bonjour Crepes and Wine), and an ice cream place (Sedutto) around this area. If you are up for something “different”, laduree is on 5th and 72nd and they make great macaroons and TreatHouse just opened on 81st and second, they make nice ice cream bars and other things. Hope this helps and sorry if this is information overload 🙂 . Definitely venture outside of Fifth/Madison avenue for food. Most places on second are decent enough to grab drinks and food :).

        Liked by 1 person

      3. There are definitely some places here that are new to us so we’ll add it to the list of places to try! Really appreciate the tips! We can never have too much food intel. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

