A little bit about the holidays

Hi friends,

I just came back to the city after visiting my family during the holidays. It wasn’t so much a visit as a recovery period since I had hip surgery on the 23rd. I pretty much slept the whole time while I was home because I was heavily sedated, but I did get to spend some quality time with my family.

I will write more about my hip surgery in my next post.

In the meantime, I wanted to share some photos with you. I took these in a hurry last week before I went to meet a friend to watch the movie “Concussion” staring Will Smith. If you have not seen it, I suggest you do. I mention that because some of them are blurry, but I wanted to give you a sense of what the holidays look like in the city…especially along Fifth Avenue and the window displays at Sak’s.

It has definitely been nice here since the temperatures have not dropped considerably during the past few weeks. In fact, it has felt like spring on some days, which is nice, but scary given the climactic changes that our planet is going through. I guess that for New Yorkers, it has been nice to get to walk around and see the Christmas displays without having to really bundle up or freeze outside.

Christmas at home was fun. We don’t have any traditions other than to have dinner on the 24th and open presents that midnight. We usually open our presents as a group, which is nice because everyone oos and aaas about what everyone else got. It was nice to be home during this time especially because I felt super sick after surgery and it was good to have people I love around.

How were your holidays?

xoxox,

M

Leave a Reply

