I am back….tons of updates

Hi friends,

I know I’ve been missing for a bit and for that I am extremely sorry.

Life has gotten in the way of blogging, but I will do my best to keep this going.

Let me give you a brief rundown of what is going on in life.

Graduate school has been crazy lately. I have been working really long hours trying to tie up some loose ends with my project before the holidays hit. I think it is an understatement to say that this PhD thing has been challenging. Even though it is probably one of the most psychologically and physically draining things I have ever done, I leave work everyday exhausted but thinking that I would rather be doing this than anything else. Being part of this “millennial” generation, I am really glad that I am doing something that I love right now. I don’t know if I will stay in basic science in the future, but for now this works.

Apart from graduate school, I have been dating a bit. For a moment there, I thought seriously about just settling and finding someone who satisfied most of my needs, but left room for improvement. I kind of did this for a bit, but then met some great guys along this dating path, that have made me realize that I deserve a lot. Since the disastrous ending of my engagement, I always doubted whether I deserved what I wanted in a partner. I think that a lot of that came from feeling guilty about the things I did not do for my ex-fiance, but I’ve come to the conclusion that our falling apart wasn’t only my fault. I have learned to be kinder to myself and to have hope that there is someone out there who will fulfill most of my ideas of what I want in a partner. They need not be perfect, but I also need not settle for the next best thing.

Finally, I have been having health issues. This is one of the major reasons why I stopped blogging. I haven’t been feeling well for the past few months and in November, it hit its worst stride. I had hip surgery earlier this year and I thought that this would be the end to my orthopedic issues. However, I’ve developed some more hip issues, which cause a lot of pain, and I will need to have another surgery (which is happening next week), to correct these issues. I think I am going to write more about hip labral tears, which is what I have, and my recovery now that I am actually going through it again.

Again, sorry for going missing!

Happy early holidays,

M

PS: Here are some photos of Central Park this fall and Alex Katz art at the MET.

 

Leave a Reply

