A little bit about life: September favorites, lazy Sundays, and an update

Hi lovely people,

To say that the past few weeks have been incredibly busy and that I am so tired, is an understatement. During this month, in between work and life, I traveled to France and Italy. I had a great time while abroad, but coming back has found me filled with things to do, especially moving into a new place. I still live in the city but, after years of living with roommates, I am now living alone. It feels weird, but there is this feeling of freedom that comes along with that.

Given that I’ve been away, I thought I should do a September’s favorites (even though it is mid-October already). These are some things that I could not live without while traveling and others that just made me happy last month.

  1. Beauty: I don’t know what I would do without my concealer and tinted moisturizer. My Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Roller and my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer saved me while traveling. They gave me a vibrant and youthful look even though I was super jet lagged at the beginning and then super tired because of the work and play I did while in France and Italy. Apart from this, my ASOS lip balm has been a life saver. With the sudden change in weather, my lips went completely dry and this lip balm has helped to save me from the pain and itchiness associated with my dry lips. If you haven’t seen my makeup staples blog, here is the link.
  2. Travel: Going away has definitely reassured that I love traveling and getting to immerse myself, as much as I can, in different cultures, languages, countries. My best memory of traveling, though, for this trip is the art (especially in France) and the food (especially in Italy). I will write another blogpost about my time in Italy, but I learned that I love two new things which I dislike in the states- pesto and parmigiano. I dream of good parmigiano now 😉 . If you haven’t read my post on Corsica and Paris, go do it 🙂 .
  3. Scarves: I am a lover of all types of scarves. I buy one every time I go away on vacation. This time, I bought one at one of the vendor stands in Siena when I was freezing cold. It looks something like this (sorry for the not so nice image). It was really inexpensive and helped me get through the colder days in Italy. Now that I am back home, I really like it because it reminds me that I’ve been to such distant and beautiful places.
  4. Good reading: While I was away I read “Everything I Never Told You,” by Celeste Ng. This is one of the best books I have read in a while. It is the story of an Asian-American family and their struggles as they attempt to fit into rural America. My brief description does not do the book justice because it is about so much more, but some of the themes definitely resonated with me. Being an immigrant, even though I grew up in the States, I was able to relate to some of the issues that the main characters encountered as they tried to define their identities.
  5. Good music: I have been loving Chvrches new album. It is on my top list of favorite albums right now and makes me want to dance every single time. I also am still loving Death Cab for Cutie. After seeing them in concert, I have a new found respect for how good they are and how much their music resonates with my own life experiences.
  6. iPhone/iPad/random strangers: I know that our generation is practically stuck to their iPhone all the time. However, while traveling abroad, I found that I needed my iPhone and Google maps to just keep me oriented. I walked so much and constantly depended on my phone to give me a sense of security while away.The iPad was super helpful because I kept most of my travel and work documents in there without having to lug my computer around. I did a lot of traveling within France and Italy, so it was nice not to have too many heavy things. Even though I was glued to my phone during times of need, I also managed to make friends with random strangers while abroad. I met another New Yorker while there who was kind enough to call a cab for me the night before I left Italy. We had a really great conversation about life, career, goals etc etc. I also met two ladies from Spain who took me under their wing when they noticed I was traveling alone on our trip to Siena. They were so nice, open, and generally good people. I got to practice my Spanish and meet some people who I would not have otherwise talked to.
  7. My home: As much as I like traveling, I began yearning for NYC and my home at the end of the trip. I missed my bed, my lovely cat and my family. Given that I traveled alone, which was a much needed time by myself, I was missing human/animal companionship when I came back. I am so grateful for having the luxury of calling NYC my home and for having my family nearby. There is no other city in the world like it, and every time I go away I am reminded that I am in the right place at this time in my life.

I am sure I forgot tons of my favorites because as I’ve mentioned, I have been all over the place lately with moving and settling back into life. I am in love with my new place. Although it is not huge (let’s face it nothing in NYC is huge), it is home for now and it gives me the feeling that I am an adult. I haven’t felt like an adult in a while because, as you all know, I am still in graduate school trying to finish up my PhD…something that is still a work in progress.

If you guys have any questions, comments, suggestions for making the blog better, let me know. I am here and happy to start up conversations with all of you. Also, the photo featured in this blog is from Florence, Italy.

xoxoxo,

M

Leave a Reply

