A little bit about travel: Paris, France

Hi everyone,

Sorry I have been MIA. It has been quite a busy past few weeks. I will update you later on my weekly roundup.

For now though, I wanted to write about my visit to Paris almost three weeks ago.

Paris is beautiful. I felt like everywhere I went I was astounded by the beauty of the architecture, the art, the fashion, the people, the gardens etc etc. I was awed by the city itself which is huge and seems to expand everywhere. The architecture is astounding- none of the building are very high and they retain an old-fashioned vibe with their pastel coloring. It amazes that the French government has managed to maintain it and it definitely adds to the ambiance of the city and makes it special. I also was amazed by the monuments. I saw so many of them. After all, you can’t go to Paris and not see the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, or the Arc the Triomphe. I also managed to sneak in a visit to Versailles. The palace itself was beautiful and elegant. I don’t understand how people even managed to live in those rooms- they are so extravagant. The gardens were amazing. Even though it was pouring when I went, I just couldn’t believe how beautiful it was.

Apart from being astounded by the architecture, I fell in love with the number of museums that are available to the public. Lately, I’ve been into going to museums, just to stare at works of art. There is something beautiful about all forms of art. With that said, I was really excited to visit all the museums that were available to me. I got a Paris Pass which included entry to major monuments and a museum pass, so I made sure to visit as many as I could. In two days, I think I managed to visit close to eight museums. Even though this was overload, I thoroughly enjoyed staring at paintings from great artists like Monet, Pissaro, Picasso, Dali (the Dali museum was awesome) etc etc. The lasting impression for me is Monet’s “Water Lillies” at the Musee de l’Orangerie. I saw part of this at the MoMA in NYC and when I got to see the rest at this museum in Paris I was in awe.

Lastly, the food was also great. I ate so many croissants, crepes (my favorite), baguettes, macarons (Ladureee, of course), and tried tons of cured meats and cheese. I found all of them delicious, even though I would never eat this in NYC. I also went to a wine tasting at O’Chateau. This is a wine bar which carries regional wines. Our sommelier was amazing and he made the experience so much fun. He knew so much about wines and how to actually enjoy them. I usually don’t drink, but I had so much fun and enjoyed every single wine provided.  Finally, I hit up this noodle place which I found while I was lost. I was missing home a bit and this Chinese restaurant hit the spot.  I had the soup with the hand pulled noodles and it tasted pretty good to me. In hindsight, I wish I had been more open in my food choices while there and tried a variety of different foods from different regions- not just traditional French food.

To summarize, Paris was great. I had a lot of fun visiting different places and walking tons from one part of the city to another. It helped that I met a friend while there and he made it much easier because he spoke French. Leaving Paris, I had mixed feelings about the city. On the one hand, I think it is beautiful and there is so much culture to take in. On the other hand, I realized how American I am and that New York has “imprinted” on me. I missed home- especially being able to understand everyone- and I missed all the tall skyscrapers and how fast the city moves. There is just something about NY that I don’t think I ever will be able to wash off me..maybe this city is my one true love.

Here are some photos from my trip to Paris.

IMG_3331
On the subway
IMG_3319
Wine tasting
IMG_3311
This soup was delicious especially on a cold rainy day
IMG_3307
Versailles…so in love with this place
IMG_3306
Dali- the Dali museum is awesome!
DSCF1857
Best macarons ever 🙂
DSCF1825
View of the city from the Arc de Triomphe
DSCF1819
View of the city from the Arc de Triomphe
DSCF1794
Love locks
DSCF1756
Arc de Triomphe
DSCF1721
Eiffel Tower
DSCF1699
One of the monuments lining the bridges on the Seine river. I would recommend taking an evening tour along this river. There is nothing like seeing some of the monuments at night, especially the Eiffel tower.
DSCF1690
Paris at sundown
DSCF1685
Louvre

DSCF1677

Hope you guys enjoyed this!

xoxox,

M

One thought on “A little bit about travel: Paris, France

Leave a Reply

