A little bit about traveling: Corsica, France

Hi lovelies,

Traveling is one of those things which I love to do. As exhausting as it is, I love to go to another country and get immersed in different cultures. I’m a firm believer that you cannot have a global view of the world without traveling, talking to locals, trying out different foods, and ultimately just learning about other places/people/things. Due to that, and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve made it a priority to travel to different parts of the world.

I did not grow up traveling, so it was never a priority for me. My parents aren’t really into vacationing to other countries other than where they grew up. As a child, we would either travel back there, or take weekend trips to beaches or parks. In other words, I didn’t see much of the world while I was growing up.

It wasn’t until I reached adulthood that I began traveling for conferences for work. It was then that I realized how important it was to see the world…even if that meant going to another state. Ever since then, I’ve tried to travel to other places and this has helped me to understand a lot about myself.

This week I’ve been in Paris and Corsica. I will write about Paris later, but for the past few days I’ve been in Corsica. Corsica is a French island which maintains a lot of Italian flavor. It is definitely the place where a lot of Europeans come to sunbathe. France, Spain, Switzerland and Italy all surround the island, so you bump into people speaking all different languages. Perhaps the claim to fame where I am staying, Ajaccio, is that Napoleon was born here. You can visit all the places where he frequented before he moved to Paris to get military training. Apparently he was one of the youngest people in his military class, wasn’t top of his class, but somehow managed to go really high up in the ranks….which reminds me that everything is possible.

Ajaccio is a small but charming town. It is a tourist town, so there are many restaurants and you can arrange to do multiple things. I’m here for work, so most of my stay has been centered around work. When I have gotten some free time, I’ve taken a bus tour and gone to the beach. The tour was amazing in that I got to see all of the beautiful modern and old architecture here. I also realized that there are some really pretty beaches around here. I am staying in the city center, so to get to the nicer beaches, it is important to walk very far away from the city center. All this walking has definitely been worth it.

I will write more about my experiences here when I get back home. I’ve come to multiple realizations about my life/career/goals for the future while I’ve been here. It has been mostly relaxing and has given me time to take a, much deserved, break from the city and my, sometimes, hectic life.

For now, though, here are some photos for your enjoyment.

Xoxoxox,
M

image image image image image

One thought on “A little bit about traveling: Corsica, France

Leave a Reply

