A little bit about life: In remembrance of September 11, 2001

I was fourteen years old on September 11, 2001.

It was my first week of high school. It was early in the morning and I had just reported to Home Economics class. As we started class, we heard that, just across the Hudson River, NYC was under attack. We weren’t sure what was happening, but we were put on “lock-down” and no one was allowed to leave the classroom or the school. After some time, someone brought in a television and we watched in awe and horror as the news replayed what had happened to tower one. As we sat there, there was complete silence.

It all became the more real when our high school, which is close enough to the Hudson River, began filling up with the smoke that was traveling from the collapse of the towers. It was then that we knew that we had also been part of such tragedy.

When they finally let us go, I remember going outside into my little sheltered town in NJ, walking home, and seeing the clouds of smoke that had traveled from the city, across the river, into our town.

This is something I will never forget.

I wanted to dedicate this blog post to everyone who lost their lives on that tragic day. We were forever changed by that event, but we will never forget those who had to withstand such tragedy.

Having lived in NYC for the past five years and having witnessed the attacks first hand, I have come to love and admire this city and its people. It goes without saying that this city and its people are extremely resilient and that the despite this tragedy life has moved on here. So much continues to happen regardless of the fear that was instilled that day.

Despite this, like many other New Yorkers, I often think about September 11. I hold all the souls lost that day in my prayers. I wish that their families are doing well. I wish that despite leaving their lives early, that they have found peace wherever the next destination is. I also hope that such tragedies which lead to useless loss of life never happen again.

We are forever changed by you.

We will never forget you.

We will never forget.

xoxoxo,

M

Leave a Reply

